

ST. MARY'S COUNTY FARM BUREAU

26737 Radio Station Way, Ste. G.
Leonardtown, MD 20650
www.mdfarmbureau.com/st-marys
WORKING FOR SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE SINCE 1947

PRESS STATEMENT: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 17, 2021

The St. Mary's County Farm Bureau held a Legislative Town Hall virtual event on January 8, 2021 with 21 people attending.

Elected officials attending were: Delegate Matt Morgan, Del. Brian Crosby, Del. Jerry Clark, and St. Mary's County Commissioner Eric Colvin. Mr. Jaelon Moaney attended representing Senator Chris Van Hollen and Ms. Gretchen Hardman represented Gov. Larry Hogan. Sen. Jack Bailey did not attend the event, but he sent written comments which were read to the attendees.

The delegates discussed how the 2021 legislative session will be conducted in light of the restrictions on social distancing during the pandemic, and how citizens will be able to participate in the legislative process. Legislative topics discussed by the delegates were: Changes to state procurement contracts to promote purchases from Maryland small farm operations, bills pertaining to environmental matters developed over the summer study period, police reform, and additional relief packages from the state and federal government for COVID. Sen. Bailey reported that he has introduced a bill that will help facilitate the management of the new Regional Agricultural Center (RAC), to allow the Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission (SMADC) to operate the RAC by aligning State law with the already agreed upon memorandum of understanding with St. Mary's County for the property.

Two farm bureau members brought up issues which were discussed. One member spoke about Forest Stewardship Plans and woodland carbon sequestration. Del. Clark asked the member to follow up with him on this issue. The other farm bureau member asked for support for agricultural education legislation that may be introduced during this session.

Farm bureau appreciates the participation of our elected officials and their representatives at the town hall meeting.

By authority of,

James K. Raley, Jr.
President
St. Mary's County Farm Bureau
(301) 481-7927